Charger
A device whose job is to refill a depleted battery: it runs the bulk and absorption stages (next section) at a useful current, and is meant to be removed — or to step down — when the battery is full.
How to choose a charger or maintainer by battery size and job — the three kinds explained, the stages decoded, and 40 models from seven makers compared on the makers' own published specs, with the marketing claims weighed separately.
A battery guide that stopped at buying would miss most of ownership. Batteries are charged, topped up, maintained through winter and — too often — left sitting until they sulfate. This page covers the equipment for that middle of a battery's life: what separates a charger from a trickle charger from a maintainer, how the charging stages actually work, how big a charger your battery needs, and the 40 models we could fully verify from seven makers, compared on their own published specifications.
Method: every specification below is traced to the maker's own product pages, datasheets or user guides, checked 2026-11-02; the charging concepts come from Battery University. Where a maker does not publish a figure, the table says 'Not published by the maker' rather than guessing. Where a maker's own documents disagree, both figures are shown and flagged ⚠. Claims about desulfation, reconditioning and recovery are labelled as claims wherever they appear, and weighed against independent evidence in their own section below.
Three products on the shelf; two of the words mean less than you think.
Start with a warning about the words themselves. Battery University uses trickle charge, float charge and maintenance charge largely as synonyms — names for the small charge that compensates a battery's self-discharge. They are not three different products. The consumer distinction between a 'trickle charger' and a 'smart maintainer' comes from the charger makers, principally Deltran (Battery Tender). A guide that pretended Battery University defines the retail categories would be making it up.
A device whose job is to refill a depleted battery: it runs the bulk and absorption stages (next section) at a useful current, and is meant to be removed — or to step down — when the battery is full.
Delivers a small, constant current with no full-charge detection and no step-down to a regulated float voltage. Battery University notes that slow chargers apply a fixed charge of about 0.1C with no full-charge detection, and that filling a battery beyond full turns the excess energy into heat and gas. Deltran's warning is blunter: connected for weeks, a basic trickle charger overcharges, causes excessive gassing, consumes electrolyte and permanently damages the plates.
Monitors the battery, completes the charge stages, then holds a regulated float voltage — about 2.25–2.27V per cell for flooded lead-acid — supplying only enough current to offset self-discharge. It can stay connected indefinitely.
The regulated float hold — not the word 'trickle' on the box — is what makes long-term connection safe.
One Battery University rule covers the in-between cases: if your charger stays at the topping voltage and does not drop below 2.30V/cell, take it off after 48 hours.
Battery University's CCCV model: constant current, then constant voltage, then float.
Battery University's name for the standard lead-acid method is CCCV — constant current, constant voltage. A regulated current raises the terminal voltage until the charge-voltage limit is reached; the current then falls away as the battery saturates. Power-Sonic's technical manual describes the same three-stage approach for its sealed lead-acid range.
| Stage | What happens | Battery University's figures |
|---|---|---|
| Constant-current (bulk) | Applies the bulk of the charge; takes up roughly half the required charge time. | The battery reaches about 70% charge in 5–8 hours. |
| Topping (absorption) | A lower, tapering current saturates the battery. Battery University calls this stage essential: a battery continually deprived of it loses the ability to accept a full charge and sulfates. | The remaining ~30% takes another 7–10 hours; full charge is reached when current falls to 3–5% of the Ah rating. |
| Float | Compensates for self-discharge and holds the battery at full charge — this is the maintainer stage. | Recommended float for most flooded lead-acid: 2.25–2.27V/cell (broader long-standby band 2.25–2.30V/cell). |
The charge-voltage limit is 2.30–2.45V per cell; Battery University's three-stage summary limits charge to 2.40V/cell (14.40V on a 12V battery), then lowers it to a float of about 2.30V/cell (13.8V). Total charge time on this profile is 12–16 hours. Charge voltage is temperature-compensated at −3mV/°C per cell, and once a battery is saturated it should not dwell at the topping voltage for more than 48 hours before dropping to float.
Makers count 'stages' differently, and the counts are not comparable: Battery University's model has 3, Deltran's ISM program has 4, Clore publishes 7 phases, CTEK 8 steps — and NOCO, Schumacher and OPTIMA publish no stage count at all. A bigger stage number is a different slicing of the same process, not a quality ranking.
There is no single universal rule — here is each published rule, with whose battery it applies to.
| Source | Published guidance | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| Battery University | Manufacturers recommend a charge C-rate of 0.3C for lead-acid; higher rates are tolerable up to about 80% state-of-charge without creating oxygen and water depletion. | Lead-acid generally |
| Power-Sonic | Initial charge current must not exceed 0.30 × C for cyclic and float chargers; its three-stage summary runs the first stage at 10–30% of the capacity rating. | Sealed lead-acid (SLA/VRLA) |
| Trojan Battery | Paraphrased from Trojan's published guidance for its deep-cycle flooded batteries: a charge rate of about 10–13% of the battery's 20-hour capacity, accepting that lower-rated chargers simply take longer; where a recharge must complete in 8–10 hours, a three-stage automatic charger rated at about 20% of capacity. Trojan's own worked example: a 225Ah battery points to roughly 22–29 amps. | Deep-cycle flooded |
| Dolphin Charger | Maximum charger amperage should be 20% of the battery bank size in amp-hours — C/5. Its example: an 80A charger for a 400Ah bank. | Marine battery banks |
For a single automotive or deep-cycle lead-acid battery, the published guidance clusters around 0.1C–0.3C — on those rules a 100Ah battery points to roughly 10–30A, with Trojan's tighter deep-cycle rule at the low end (10–13A). Bigger is faster, not better: the topping stage still takes the time it takes.
Maintainers are a different sizing problem: they only have to offset self-discharge at float. Deltran rates its 0.75A Junior for batteries of 3–30Ah, and points to its 1.25A Plus for batteries larger than 30Ah or vehicles with high parasitic draws — both figures are in the model tables below.
Anyone whose battery sits — or whose driving never quite fills it.
Battery University's storage rules are the whole argument: lead-acid batteries must always be stored in a charged state, with a topping charge every 6 months to stop voltage falling below 2.05V/cell and causing sulfation (the requirements can be relaxed somewhat for AGM). A sealed lead-acid battery can be stored up to 2 years, recharging when it falls to 70% state-of-charge — about 2.07V/cell, or 12.42V for a 12V pack. Trojan's storage guidance agrees in substance: flooded batteries fully charged before and during storage, never stored discharged, kept in a cool, dry place, and recharged before returning to service.
A maintainer simply automates Battery University's six-month topping charge — that is the entire product category, honestly described.
Fully automatic, wide model range, three-year warranty — and three things NOCO doesn't publish.
NOCO's guides describe chargers that can be left connected indefinitely: after a full charge the unit keeps monitoring and provides 'ongoing maintenance and optimization', with auto-memory returning to the last selected mode. The chargers detect batteries as low as 1 volt; Force Mode (press and hold five seconds) starts charging when voltage is too low to detect — and NOCO's own guides warn that Force Mode disables safety features, with live power present at the connectors. An integrated thermal sensor adjusts charging for ambient temperature. Every lithium mode below is for batteries with a Battery Management System (BMS) only. One honest absence, stated plainly: NOCO publishes no charging-stage count, no spark-proof claim, and no UL/ETL safety listing for this line in the documents we reviewed (its guides carry an FCC Part 15 statement). That is an absence in the published material — not a judgement on the products.
| Model | Charge current | Battery types | Lithium mode | Maintainer / float behaviour | Special modes | Warranty | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GENIUS1 | 1A (6V and 12V) | Wet, Gel, MF, CA, EFB, AGM, Lithium (LiFePO4) | Yes — 12V Lithium mode at 14.6V (BMS only) | Monitors after full charge; can stay connected indefinitely | Force Mode; no Repair mode (automatic sulfation detection only) | 3-Year Limited | Charges up to 30Ah; maintains all battery sizes |
| GENIUS2 | 2A (6V and 12V) | Wet, Gel, MF, CA, EFB, AGM, Lithium (LiFePO4) | Yes — 14.6V (BMS only) | Same line-wide behaviour | Force Mode; no Repair or Supply mode | 3-Year Limited | Up to 40Ah (the datasheet's charging-times table also lists 80Ah/100Ah batteries); input rating ⚠ datasheet says 120–240 VAC, the guide says 100–240 VAC |
| GENIUS5 | 5A (6V and 12V) | Wet, Gel, MF, CA, EFB, AGM, Calcium, Lithium | Yes — 14.6V (BMS only) | Same line-wide behaviour | Repair mode (12V; conditioning up to 16.5V, up to 4 hours — maker claim, weighed in the desulfation section); Force Mode | 3-Year Limited | Up to 120Ah; input-rating conflict ⚠ as GENIUS2 |
| GENIUS10 | 10A (6V and 12V) | Wet, Gel, MF, CA, EFB, AGM, Calcium, Lithium | Yes (BMS only) | Same line-wide behaviour | Repair mode (as GENIUS5); Supply mode 13.6V @ 10A, max 12A; Force Mode | 3-Year Limited | Up to 230Ah |
| GENIUS2X2 | 2A per bank × 2 banks (4A total), 6V/12V | Wet, Gel, MF, CA, EFB, AGM, Lithium (LiFePO4) | Yes, per bank (BMS only) | Line-wide behaviour, per bank | Force Mode per bank; no Repair or Supply | 3-Year Limited | Two independent banks; up to 40Ah per bank |
| GENIUS2X4 | 2A per bank × 4 banks (8A total), 6V/12V | Wet, Gel, MF, CA, EFB, AGM, Lithium | Yes, per bank (BMS only) | Line-wide behaviour, per bank | Force Mode per bank; no Repair or Supply | 3-Year Limited | Four independent banks; up to 40Ah per bank |
| GENIUSPRO25 | 25A (6V/12V), 12.5A (24V) | Wet, Gel, MF, CA, EFB, AGM, Lithium (LiFePO4) | Yes — 6V/12V/24V lithium modes (BMS only) | Same line-wide behaviour | Repair modes (6V/12V/24V); Supply ⚠ product page: 12V 25A / 24V 12.5A — guide: 13.6V at 20A (max 25A) / 27.2V at 10A (max 12.5A); 5A reduced mode; Force Mode | 3-Year Limited | Up to 1,000Ah (6V/12V), 500Ah (24V); ⚠ the datasheet's front page prints the GENIUSPRO50's figures — these specs are from its technical-specifications table and guide |
| GENIUSPRO50 | 50A (6V/12V), 25A (24V) | Wet, Gel, MF, CA, EFB, AGM, Calcium, Lithium (LiFePO4) | Yes (BMS only) | Same line-wide behaviour | Repair modes; Supply ⚠ product page repeats the PRO25's figures (12V 25A / 24V 12.5A) — guide: 13.6V max 50A / 27.2V max 25A; 10A reduced mode; Force Mode | 3-Year Limited | Up to 2,000Ah (6V/12V), 1,000Ah (24V) |
The 8-step program — and a regional trap in the model name.
The current North American model is the MXS 5.0 NA (item 40-206). The MUS 4.3 TEST&CHARGE is a separate, older model that is easy to confuse with it; the two are listed separately here and never merged. CTEK's 8-step program ends in its patented Float/Pulse maintenance. Regional warning: the European MXS 5.0 carrying the same name is a 5A unit — the North American one is 4.3A, and North American readers should shop the NA specification. CTEK sells lithium charging as a separate model (LITHIUM US) or in the dual-chemistry NXT 5; the MXS 5.0 NA does not charge lithium.
| Model | Charge current | Battery types | Lithium mode | Maintainer / float behaviour | Special modes | Warranty | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MXS 5.0 NA | 0.8A (small-battery program) / 4.3A (normal program) | Lead-acid only — WET, MF, Ca/Ca, EFB, AGM, GEL | No — lithium not supported | Patented Float/Pulse: Step 7 Float holds 13.6V; Step 8 Pulse maintains 95–100% | RECOND (15.8V) — CTEK warns: do not apply RECOND on GEL or AGM batteries; spark-free operation, reverse-polarity and short-circuit protection published | 5 years | 12V only; 8-step program; charges 1.2–110Ah, maintenance charging up to 160Ah |
| MXS 5.0 EU | 0.8A / 5A | Lead-acid — WET, MF, Ca/Ca, AGM, EFB, GEL | No | Float/Pulse maintenance | RECOND (15.8V) | 5 years | European variant, shown for contrast: 5A max and 220–240V input — this is not the North American model |
| MUS 4.3 TEST&CHARGE | 4.3A max | Wet, MF, AGM, GEL (its sheet does not list Ca/Ca or EFB) | No | Float/Pulse maintenance | RECOND; three test programs (battery voltage, start power, alternator) | 5 years | Legacy/distinct model — not the current MXS 5.0 NA; 1.2–110Ah, maintenance up to 160Ah |
| LITHIUM US | 4.3A max | LiFePO4 ONLY — no lead-acid charging | Lithium-only model | Float/Pulse (lithium program) | Automatic BMS reset / “wake up” for lithium batteries with low-voltage protection; spark-free, reverse-polarity and short-circuit protection published | 5 years | Charges 5–60Ah; maintenance charging up to 120Ah |
| NXT 5 | 5A max ⚠ per the model's manual — the manual file named “NA” contains EU specifications, so the North American rating is not reliably published by it | Lead-acid (WET, EFB, MF, Ca/Ca, AGM, GEL) plus LFP lithium | Yes — Lithium program at 14.2V | Battery is fully charged when the CARE lamp is lit (manual) | RECOND (15.8V) — do NOT apply to lithium, GEL or AGM; lithium wake-up (hold Mode about 10 seconds); no Supply mode published for this model | 5 years | Capacity ⚠ product page gives a single 1.2–160Ah range; the manual gives 1.2–110Ah with maintenance up to 160Ah |
Chargers, maintainers and engine-start combos — with the messiest spec sheets in this guide.
The SC series is Schumacher's current microprocessor-controlled line (the older Ship 'N Shore SpeedCharge SSC models no longer appear on its site; the Ship 'n Shore name survives on the SC1360). Three line-wide cautions. No model checked publishes a charging-stage count — only 'multi-stage'. No spark-proof claim is published for any model checked; reverse hook-up protection is the published protection. And 'float mode monitoring' is published only for the SC1308L, SC1361 and SC1360 — the maintainer-class models below say 'smart trickle charge' instead, so the two phrases are kept separate in the table. Watch the specs tables: on several models the specs table's battery-compatibility field reads only 'AGM' while the same page's description lists more types; both are shown where they differ.
| Model | Charge current | Battery types | Lithium mode | Maintainer / float behaviour | Special modes | Warranty | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SC1355 | 1.5A | Description: standard, AGM, deep-cycle ⚠ the specs table lists AGM only; gel and lithium not published | Not published by the maker | “Smart trickle charge” — the maker says it can be left connected safely for long periods without overcharging (float-mode monitoring is not published for this model) | Desulfation mode (maker claim); sold as a 3-in-1 that charges, maintains and reconditions | 1 Year Limited | Certifications published: DOE, FCC — no UL/ETL listing on its page |
| SC1282L | 10A rapid charge + 2A maintain ⚠ the specs table lists 10A output only | Description: standard, AGM, gel, lithium (LiFePO4) ⚠ specs table lists AGM only | Yes (per the description) | Smart trickle charge and maintain mode | None published beyond multi-stage charging | 1 Year Limited | 12V only; DOE, FCC |
| SC1339L | ⚠ Conflict — the page title and specs table say 10A; the Features list says it delivers 2-amp charging and maintaining. Both are Schumacher's own figures and the conflict is unresolved | Description: standard, AGM, lithium (LiFePO4) ⚠ specs table lists AGM only; gel not published | Yes (per the description) | Smart trickle charge technology | None published beyond multi-stage charging | 1 Year | ⚠ The specs table also lists 6/12V output while the page frames the unit as 12V; UL Listed (File E32074), cETLus, DOE, FCC |
| SC1361 | 6A→2A charge/maintain rates, 10A boost, 50A engine start ⚠ the specs table lists output 2/10/50A — no 6A | 12V standard and AGM only; gel, deep-cycle and lithium not published | Not published by the maker | Float mode monitoring (published), plus smart trickle charge | Battery reconditioning with an advanced desulfation mode (maker claim); 50A engine start | 1 Year | UL/cUL Listed (File E32074), cETLus, DOE, FCC |
| SC1308L | 6A→2A charge/maintain (2A at 6V), boost, 100A engine start ⚠ the description says “12A to 30A boost” while the specs table lists 2/6/30/100A — no 12A | Description: standard, AGM, deep-cycle, 12V lithium (LiFePO4) ⚠ specs table lists AGM only; gel not published | Yes — 12V (per the description) | Float mode monitoring (published) | Recondition function (maker claim); built-in battery and alternator tester; 100A engine start | 1 Year | 6V/12V with automatic voltage detection; UL/cUL Listed, cETLus, DOE, FCC |
| SC1360 | 15A rapid charge, 8A charge, 3A maintain | Not published on its page | Not published by the maker | Float-mode monitoring (published) — “automatically maintain an optimum battery charge” | None published on its page | One-year | Ship 'n Shore model on an older-format page with no specs table; DOE compliant; no UL/ETL listing published there |
Workshop chargers with a power-supply mode and an exercise cycle instead of float.
Pro-Logix chargers are fully automatic and microprocessor-controlled. Where a phase count is published, it is 7 charging phases, ending in an Enhanced Maintenance Mode: after a full charge the unit rests and monitors the battery, then exercises it — applies a load to simulate active use — and restores it to full charge. Clore does not call this 'float', and neither does this guide. The Recondition Mode and the ability to charge a battery reading zero volts are maker claims, weighed in the desulfation section.
| Model | Charge current | Battery types | Lithium mode | Maintainer / float behaviour | Special modes | Warranty | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PL2112 | 1A | Flooded, AGM, spiral wound, marine, deep cycle, LiFePO4; gel not published for this model | Yes | Enhanced Maintenance Mode; 7 charging phases | Recondition Mode; Soft Start Mode; temperature compensation (claims) | 1 Year Limited | No safety listing published on the product page |
| PL2310 | 10/6/2A charge rates, plus a 0–10A power supply mode | Flooded, AGM spiral wound, marine and deep-cycle lead-acid, plus LiFePO4 ⚠ an older Clore article lists gel cell instead of lithium; gel is not published on the current product page | Yes | Enhanced Maintenance Mode; 7 charging phases | Soft Start Mode; Recondition Mode (“rejuvenates distressed batteries” — maker claim); maker claims it can charge even zero-volt batteries; temperature compensation | 1 Year Limited | The shared operator's manual states FCC Part 15 Class B and Canadian ICES-003 — EMC statements, not a safety listing |
| PL2320 | 20/10/2A charge rates, plus a 0–20A power supply mode | As PL2310 ⚠ gel appears only in older Clore/retailer copy | Yes | Enhanced maintenance mode; a phase count is NOT published on this model's page (the PL2310's seven phases are not transferred to it) | Soft Start Mode; Recondition Mode (“rejuvenates batteries with sulfation problems” — maker claim); zero-volt claim; temperature compensation | Not published on the product page (the PL2112 and PL2310 publish 1 Year Limited; not assumed for this model) | Published workshop use: maintaining system voltage during key-on ADAS recalibrations |
The '+' generation adds lithium; the originals live on in the support pages.
OPTIMA's current lineup page lists only the '+' generation — D200+, D400+ and D1200+ — which adds 12V lithium (LiFePO4) charging. The original Digital 400 and Digital 1200 have no product pages in the current lineup and appear to have been superseded; their specifications below come from OPTIMA's official support page and blog, and the two generations are listed separately so their specs are never merged. Line-wide: OPTIMA publishes no charging-stage count and no UL/ETL safety listing on the pages checked, and no OPTIMA charger page checked lists gel as compatible.
| Model | Charge current | Battery types | Lithium mode | Maintainer / float behaviour | Special modes | Warranty | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| D200+ | 2A | Lithium, AGM and flooded 12V batteries, incl. LiFePO4; gel not published | Yes | “Energy-saving auto maintain mode” for long-term or seasonal storage; automatic restart after a power disruption; temperature-compensated charging | Pre-charge status bar that works unplugged; dual-function LED gauge; spark-free connectivity; reverse-polarity protection | Three-year, free-replacement | Maintainer-class 2A unit; weatherproof construction |
| D400+ | 4A peak | Battery-type selector: OPTIMA AGM, Lithium, 12V auto/marine, powersport AGM or flooded; gel not published | Yes | “Built-in energy saver” for long- and short-term storage | Pre-charge status gauge; fully illuminated LCD (state of charge, charge voltage, charging current); spark-free connection technology | Three-year, free-replacement | ⚠ Dimensions differ between OPTIMA's own pages: 9 × 3 × 7 in (product page) vs 8.2 × 3.9 × 2.7 in (support page) |
| D1200+ | ⚠ Conflict — the product page says 15 amps peak charging current / max output 15A, and the support page backs 15A; OPTIMA's own chargers lineup page says a 12 amp charge rate. Unresolved; both figures shown | Battery-type selector as D400+; gel not published | Yes | Built-in energy saver storage mode | Pre-charge status gauge; LCD; note: no auxiliary maintainer port or USB port — those are original Digital 1200 features only | Three-year, free-replacement | A “12A continuous vs 15A peak” explanation is not stated by OPTIMA and is not assumed here |
| Digital 400 (legacy) | 4A max | 12V flooded and AGM lead-acid (support page) | No — the support page attributes lithium only to the “+” models | Long-term storage maintenance with automatic restart and temperature-compensated charging (support page) | Battery Pre-Charge Status gauge; spark-free technology (support page) | Limited three-year (support page) | Legacy model, superseded by the D400+; no product page in the current lineup — specs from OPTIMA's support page |
| Digital 1200 (legacy) | 12A max (support page and OPTIMA's blog agree) | 12V flooded and AGM lead-acid | No (as Digital 400) | As Digital 400 | Auxiliary battery maintainer port and cable for stored vehicles (unique to this model); USB charging port; integrated LED work light on the positive clamp | Limited three-year (support page) | Legacy model, superseded by the D1200+ |
The maintainer specialist: four stages, float forever, the longest warranty here.
Every Battery Tender below runs Deltran's ISM (Infinite Sequential Monitoring) program — four stages: Initialization, Bulk Charge, Absorption, then Float Maintenance, in which a precisely regulated micro-current holds the battery at peak voltage indefinitely, 24/7. Deltran publishes no numeric float voltage for any model. The classic Plus and Junior are lead-acid only; lithium (LiFePO4) support appears only on the selectable Multi-Chemistry models, via a manual chemistry selector. Deltran publishes no desulfation mode — its stated position is prevention, quoted in the desulfation section. Models publish spark-proof connection technology, reverse-polarity protection and ETL/CETL certification unless a row says otherwise.
| Model | Charge current | Battery types | Lithium mode | Maintainer / float behaviour | Special modes | Warranty | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Battery Tender Plus 12V 1.25A (021-0128) | 1.25A | Flooded (wet cell), AGM, GEL, sealed maintenance-free — lead-acid only | No | Float Maintenance: regulated micro-current 24/7, holding peak voltage indefinitely | Automatic temperature compensation | 10-Year Limited | For 14–80Ah batteries at 12V; ETL and CETL certified; ⚠ Deltran's own installation guide describes this model as IP65 — that rating belongs to the separate IP65 model below, and this page publishes no IP rating |
| Battery Tender Plus Selectable 6V/12V 1.25A (022-0211) | 1.25A | Lead-acid only (flooded, AGM, gel cell, sealed maintenance-free) at either voltage | No | Regulated micro-current maintains peak voltage at 6V or 12V indefinitely | Manual 6V/12V selector switch — Deltran states there is NO automatic voltage detection; automatic temperature compensation | Not published on its page (the page text shows only “Limited Warranty”) | 14–80Ah; maker transition notice: being replaced by the Battery Tender Plus 6V/12V 2 Amp (022-0200) |
| Battery Tender Plus 12V 1.25A IP65 (022-0185G) | 1.25A | Lead-acid only (flooded, AGM, gel cell, sealed maintenance-free) | No | Transitions to float maintenance automatically; can remain connected indefinitely | IP65 weather resistance; permanent ring-terminal harness with quick-disconnect; automatic temperature compensation | 5-Year Limited | 14–80Ah; ETL/CETL certified; covered by the same 022-0200 transition notice |
| Battery Tender Junior 12V 750mA (021-0123) | 0.75A | Lead-acid only — Deltran states this explicitly | No | Float Maintenance micro-current; may stay connected for months ⚠ Deltran's own blog describes the float differently — the charge floats down to 80%, then resumes to 100% | Automatic temperature compensation | 5-Year Limited | For 3–30Ah batteries; ETL/CETL certified; listed “sold out” when checked |
| Battery Tender Junior Multi-Chemistry 1A (022-0199) | 1A | Selectable: lead-acid (flooded, AGM, GEL, sealed maintenance-free) or Lithium (LiFePO4) | Yes — manual chemistry selector, set before connecting | Chemistry-specific: lead-acid receives continuous micro-current float; lithium receives a lithium maintenance protocol — Deltran's reasoning is that lithium does not tolerate lead-acid float | Automatic temperature compensation (stated for lead-acid applications) | 5-Year Limited | For 3–30Ah batteries; ETL/CETL certified |
| Battery Tender Weather Resistant 800mA (022-0150) | 0.8A | ⚠ CONFLICTING — the page's body text says lead-acid only; the same page's Battery Compatibility field lists Lithium; Deltran's powersports page calls it a lead-acid/lithium selectable charger. Unresolved | ⚠ Unresolved — see Battery types; check the manual before buying this model for a lithium battery | Automatic float maintenance; designed to remain connected outdoors through winter | Weather-resistant, permanently mountable; IP rating ⚠ IP67 on the product page vs IP65 in Deltran's own comparison table | Not published on its page (“Limited Warranty” only) | For 3–30Ah batteries; ETL/CETL certified |
| Power Tender 4 Amp (022-0209) | 4A | Selectable Multi-Chemistry: lead-acid (flooded, AGM, gel cell, sealed maintenance-free) or Lithium (LiFePO4) | Yes — manual chemistry selector | Transitions automatically to the correct float protocol for the selected chemistry | Manual 6V/12V selector; automatic temperature compensation at both voltages | 3-Year Limited | For 14–100Ah batteries at 6V or 12V; ETL/CETL certified |
| Power Tender 5 Amp (022-0186G) | 5A | Selectable Multi-Chemistry: lead-acid or Lithium (LiFePO4) | Yes | Automatic, chemistry-correct float maintenance, indefinitely | Automatic temperature compensation | 5-Year Limited | For 20–150Ah at 6V/12V; listings published: ETL & CETL, FCC, ICES, CEC, DOE; formerly sold as the “Battery Tender Plus 5-Amp High-Efficiency”; listed “sold out” when checked |
| Battery Tender PowerPlus 12V (022-2011) | 26A | Selectable Multi-Chemistry: lead-acid (flooded, AGM, GEL, sealed MF) or Lithium (LiFePO4), at the full 26A on either chemistry | Yes | Automatic, chemistry-specific maintenance protocol delivered 24/7, indefinitely | IP68 waterproof; UL marine ignition protection; portable, permanent on-board or wall-mounted installation; automatic temperature compensation | 2-Year Limited | For 40–400Ah batteries; Deltran's highest-output 12V model |
Charger–maintainer–desulfators with the strongest claims in this guide — labelled as claims.
Every BatteryMINDer is sold as a charger–maintainer–desulfator; the desulfation wording in its row is the maker's claim and is weighed in the desulfation section below. The maker publishes no numeric float or maintenance voltage for any model, and no UL/ETL listing on the pages checked (FCC certification and California CEC items are published per model). All four models carry temperature-compensated maintenance and the same warranty pattern: a 1 Year 100% Money Back Guarantee plus a 5 Year 'No Hassle' Warranty.
| Model | Charge current | Battery types | Lithium mode | Maintainer / float behaviour | Special modes | Warranty | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model 128CEC2 | 2/4/8A, user-selectable | Sealed, wet (filler cap), maintenance-free, AGM, deep-cycle, RV/marine, PLT and Odyssey lead-acid, plus a lithium setting; gel not published | Yes | Temperature-compensated maintenance stage; auto-restart after power failure; ECO mode | “100% Full-Time U.S. Patented Pulse-type Desulfation” (maker claim; the claims are worded for lead-acid — whether desulfation applies in lithium mode is not published); short-circuit, spark, reverse-polarity and thermal-runaway protection published | 1 Year Money Back + 5 Year “No Hassle” | Maintains up to 8 batteries at once (Y-connectors sold separately); California CEC approved; IP65; the page shows a “7 Stages of Charging” graphic but gives no stage names or count in its text |
| Model 1500 | 1.5A | Lead-acid — flooded, sealed, maintenance-free, starter, deep cycle, marine, hybrid, and Optima-brand sealed AGM only among specialty AGM (the maker directs other AGM users to the 2012 or 2012-AGM); no lithium (per the 1500-series manual) | No | Fully automatic “Plug 'n Run”; can be left connected to one or more batteries indefinitely | Full-time high-frequency (not high-voltage) pulse desulfation (maker claim); “can help extend a battery's life up to 4 times” (maker claim) | 1 Year Money Back + 5 Year “No Hassle” | Maintains up to 4 batteries in parallel; FCC certified, California CEC certified, Energy Star rated; stage count ⚠ not stated on its own page — the maker's page for a sibling bundle calls the 1500 “a true seven (7) stage charger” |
| Model 2012 | 2A | Standard lead-acid (flooded, maintenance-free, VRLA, SLA, starter, deep cycle, hybrid) ⚠ plain-2012 AGM support is ambiguous in the maker's own copy — it directs AGM users (e.g. Odyssey) to the 2012-AGM; gel not published | No | Temperature-compensated long-term maintenance stage; automatic disconnect and resume if AC power is interrupted | “Patented full-time high frequency pulse desulfation (NOT high voltage)” (maker claim); short-circuit, spark, polarity and thermal-runaway protection | 1 Year Money Back + 5 Year “No Hassle” | Designed with 7 stages (names not published in the page text); maintains up to 6 batteries in parallel; FCC certified; IP65 |
| Model 2012-AGM | 2A | Specialty sealed AGM ONLY (Optima, Odyssey, Polaris, Yuasa and similar) — “Not for use with non-AGM batteries” | No | Temperature-compensated long-term maintenance stage; “guaranteed to never overcharge, regardless of how long connected” (maker claim) | Patented pulse desulfation claim, as the 2012 | 1 Year Money Back + 5 Year “No Hassle” | 7 stages; “Plug 'n Run” — no buttons to push; maintains up to 6 batteries; FCC certified; IP65 |
The section no charger advertisement will write for you.
Both sides agree on the chemistry. Battery University: sulfation occurs when a lead-acid battery is deprived of a full charge. Small sulfate crystals form in normal use and are not harmful; during prolonged charge deprivation, the amorphous lead sulfate converts to a stable crystalline form that deposits on the negative plates, growing large crystals that reduce the battery's active material — and with it, performance.
Caught early, Battery University says it can often be corrected by applying an overcharge to an already fully charged battery: a regulated current of about 200mA, letting terminal voltage rise to 2.50–2.66V/cell (15–16V on a 12V battery) for about 24 hours; warming the battery to 50–60°C helps dissolve the crystals. Note what that remedy is: a controlled, calculated overcharge — not a pulse device.
Sets in when a battery has sat at low charge for weeks or months. Battery University's verdict: at this stage, 'no form of restoration seems possible.'
What makers claim. Every item below is a maker's claim, in the maker's own framing. Inclusion is not endorsement.
What independent sources say.
Our verdict: UNPROVEN. Pulse and high-frequency desulfation, as sold in consumer 'repair', 'recond' and 'desulfator' modes, is unproven — not disproven in every case, and not verified. What the evidence does support is prevention: keep lead-acid fully charged and on a correct float in storage, and don't store a battery discharged. Early, soft sulfation can sometimes be corrected by a controlled, time-limited overcharge. Hard sulfation has no known restoration. So treat a repair mode as something that may help in early, mild cases, and is worth trying on a battery that would otherwise be replaced — never as a proven restoration, never with an implied success rate, and never, on its own, as a reason to choose one charger over another. The proven reasons to buy are the ones in the rest of this page: correct multi-stage charging, a correct float, and correct sizing.
One rule, stated plainly, then the details.
A LiFePO4 battery needs a charger with a published lithium mode or profile. If the model's row in the tables above doesn't list one, the maker hasn't published one — never assume, and never charge lithium on a lead-acid program because the plug fits.
The lay of the land in these tables: lithium-capable — the NOCO line, CTEK NXT 5, Schumacher SC1282L/SC1339L/SC1308L (per their descriptions), all three Clore models, OPTIMA's '+' models, Deltran's Multi-Chemistry models, BatteryMINDer 128CEC2. Lead-acid only — CTEK MXS 5.0 NA and EU, MUS 4.3, Deltran's classic Plus and Junior, BatteryMINDer 1500/2012/2012-AGM, OPTIMA's legacy models. Lithium-only — CTEK LITHIUM US. Unresolved — Deltran's Weather Resistant 800mA, whose own page contradicts itself (see its row).
What the labels do and don't say — 'not published' means exactly that.
Schumacher publishes UL/cUL listings for the SC1339L, SC1361 and SC1308L (File E32074) and DOE/FCC certifications across the line. Deltran publishes ETL/CETL certification line-wide, with CEC and DOE listings published on some models (e.g. the Power Tender 5 Amp). BatteryMINDer publishes FCC certification and California CEC approval or certification on individual models, but no UL/ETL listing on the pages checked. NOCO, Clore and OPTIMA publish no UL/ETL safety listing on the pages and documents checked — NOCO's guides carry an FCC Part 15 statement, and Clore's shared manual carries FCC Part 15 and ICES-003 statements, which are electromagnetic-compatibility statements, not safety listings. 'Not published' means the maker does not state it in the material reviewed. It is not a claim that a product is unsafe.
Spark-proof and reverse-polarity claims are also unevenly published. CTEK (MXS 5.0 NA, LITHIUM US), Deltran, OPTIMA and BatteryMINDer publish spark-free or spark-proof claims. Schumacher and Clore publish reverse-polarity protection but no spark-proof claim. NOCO publishes neither as a claim: in its guides, reverse polarity appears only as an error diagnostic (an error LED). We report the publishing, not the engineering.
Force Mode warning. One safety item deserves its own line. NOCO's Force Mode exists to charge batteries too deeply discharged to detect (under 1 volt) — and NOCO's guides warn that it disables safety features and puts live power at the connectors. It runs for five minutes before normal detection resumes. Use it deliberately, or not at all.
Shortlists built only from the verified data in the tables above.
Search links to the headline models — check the exact model and region before ordering.
The range's sweet spot: 5A, Repair mode, lithium mode, 3-year warranty.
Search productsAdds a 13.6V Supply mode and charges to 230Ah.
Search productsFour-stage ISM float maintenance and a 10-year limited warranty.
Search productsConfirm you are getting the North American MXS 5.0 NA (item 40-206), not the 5A European version.
Search products6A charging with float monitoring and a 50A engine-start function.
Search productsMaintains up to four batteries in parallel; its desulfation claims are weighed in the evidence section above.
Search productsThe '+' generation: lithium mode, LCD gauge, three-year free-replacement warranty.
Search productsAs an Amazon Associate, Ideal Batteries earns from qualifying purchases. These links open broad product searches, not endorsed listings. Confirm every fitment and safety requirement before ordering.
The fine print other guides leave out — kept visible on purpose.
Sources: manufacturers' official product pages, datasheets and user guides (no.co, ctek.com, schumacherelectric.com, cloreautomotive.com, optimabatteries.com, batterytender.com, batteryminders.com) and Battery University (BU-401, BU-403, BU-415, BU-702, BU-706, BU-804b), checked 2026-11-02.